Key awards were handed out last Tuesday evening, May 25, at the Thomson-McDuffie Chamber of Commerce 49th Annual Chamber Dinner.

As in past years, the event was held at Belle Meade Country Club. Debbie Jones, executive director of the Thomson-McDuffie Chamber of Commerce, thanked the board of directors for their efforts serving the chamber and the community and welcomed guests.

Ashley Morey, the outgoing chair for the chamber’s board of directors, passed the gavel to Butch Holley, the 2021 chair. She also took time to thank the board of directors for all their dedication during a very unique year due to the pandemic.

Don Powers, president and CEO of Forward McDuffie, provided an overview of projects planned and some already accomplished by the UGA Archway Partnership. Sean Kelley, mayor of Dearing, presented the Business of the Year Award to Hillcrest Farms.

Elizabeth Vance, director of the Thomson-McDuffie Convention & Visitors Bureau, presented the Mike Carrington Volunteer of the Year Award to Bonnie McCorkle.

Bob Knox presented the Darrell M. Johnson Award to McDuffie County Sheriff Logan Marshall.

Brian Hobbs and Holley presented the Ambassador of the Year Award to Juanita Thomson.

Former Georgia football player Matt Stinchcomb entertained the audience as he took examples from sports and applied them to business.